Search
  • SWAS

Spotlight On Ruben de Silva-Smith

Updated: Aug 9



Hi and welcome Ruben, you are the focus of our spotlight on series this week! 

Today we would love to check in on how you are progressing, your success’ and we hope to learn a little more, not just about you, but your favorite sports as well. It seems you are an accomplished Triathlete as well as cyclist.


So to start with, can you tell us a little about yourself, your age? And When and how you got started in sport.

I recently moved to the area from near Bendigo and I am 16 years old. I got started in Triathlon through my old school which had a program for all athletes from different sports. I was encouraged by the triathlon to have a go at the sport and have loved it ever since.


How long have you been with SWAS? 

I have been with SWAS since mid-April this year.


What is your favorite part of the SWAS training program?

My favourite part of the SWAS program is being able to have access to great facilities and coaches. 


In your sport, what would a normal week look like for you? What does training involve?

A normal week of training is around 8 hours with a mix of swimming, cycling and running. 


At the moment I am racing my bike in various cycling races most weekends.

Are there many competitions?

In summer I will compete in Triathlons every couple of weeks. 


Where do you go to school and do they support your cycling? Is it ever hard to juggle it all? 

Sometimes is can get hard juggling training and schoolwork, being in year eleven. A training plan is essential to be sure that I keep up to date with schoolwork. 

If you could go forward 5 years, where do you see yourself? 

In five years I would love to be competing in Ironman and Half-Ironman triathlons around the world preferably professionally but would love to get a chance as an amateur as well.


What do you think you will need to do to become the best you can at your sport? 

To be the best at my sport, it takes a lot of preparation, whether that be with training, nutrition, hydration and mental preparation, it all counts as little one percenters.

Is cycling at the level you compete at hard to do when you are based so far from Melbourne? 

Being based so far from Melbourne can be difficult as it is harder to get to bigger races but it makes you appreciate being at the bigger races. Local races are still my favourite though. Melbourne races can be very loud and daunting whereas the friendly atmosphere of local races is where I like to race.


For a person wanting to get involved what would suggest is the best way for them to start out? 

The best way to get into the sport is to get down to your local club, there will always be welcoming people to help you get started and guide you through your first couple of races. Once you learn the ropes you’ll never want to


Can you tell us about your recent competitions?

Before the summer season finished I managed to win two triathlons, one with Warrnambool triathlon club and one with Portland triathlon club. More recently I have been competing in all different road cycling races locally and state level. This past weekend I raced my first junior tour in Broadford. It involved three races over Saturday and Sunday. I was going well and sitting in a top ten position overall but was involved in a crash during the last race, breaking my bike and was out of the tour.


Did you ever consider other pathways or has triathlon always been where you wanted to see yourself? 

Doing Triathlon, I get to do three sports in one. It is a lot of work but it keeps it interesting doing all the different types of training. I never thought sport could possibly get me anywhere until i got involved in triathlon. Now I see all the possibilities of pathways involved in triathlon not only competing but all aspects.

Who do you look up to? or do you have person or athlete that you aspire to be like?

Someone I look up to is Peter Sagan, I like the way he approaches events and his personality off the bike. 


What is your ultimate sporting goal?

My ultimate goal would be competing in the Ironman World Championships in Hawaii. 


Do you have anyone you would like to thank? 

I’d like to thank Kerry King for being such great coach and helping me with all parts of my sport. I’d like to thank Shaun King and Royal Bikes for all the help with keeping my bikes in check. Finally I’d like to thank my parents and family for investing money and time and travelling around the state for competitions.


Thank you so much for being a part of SWAS and our Spotlight on Series!









0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All