Search
  • SWAS

Spotlight on Louis O’Callaghan

Updated: Aug 9



Hi Louis and welcome to the Spotlight On series.

This week we have some questions for you that will help us understand your journey, your training, and a little bit about your life in the cycling world.


So how long have you been cycling for?

‘Since I could first walk ‘says my dad, but actually going out on my own and training, for about 5 years now


What does an average day for you look like?

Get up at 5, leave the house at 5:15 straight onto the bike and riding for about 2 hours, then home after a coffee stop, and then getting ready for school. After school finishes homework and then getting ready for bed as this will happen all again tomorrow.


Describe a day in the life of Louis! My day is filled with school, training, food, and fixing my bike.


For you, what traveling is involved in your cycling?  Do you have to travel far for training?

Travel is just usually for races, as around here there are so many great roads to go out and train on.


You have been competing more this year, where has your favorite competition been?

The amount of events that I’m competing in has dropped but not so much. I am mainly focusing on the main events that I would like to do well in. My favorite event for the mountain biking is the Otway Odyssey, and for the road it’s the inter schools.


Can you explain to us what a competition looks like?  Do you compete with athletes the same age as you, do you compete against country and city athletes.

Yes I do compete with other riders my age that are from all over Victoria and from other states. There have been a few races this year that I have now started racing in the open category, as this happens in under 19.


Do you have to have a specific diet or routine in the lead up to competition to help you perform your best? If you do, what is it? Yes I do have a very specific diet routine in lead up to competition. I have quite a sensitive stomach that can get a stitch really easy. My coach Kerry and I have finally figured out a plan. First thing when I get up I have a smoothie that has a concoction of ingredients in it. And then 2 hours before I have something little, like a museli bar or a gel.


If you could have one sporting dream come true, what would it be? To get on one of the cycling teams if it’s international or Australian.


If you could encourage someone who was thinking about joining your sport, what would you say to them to make them want to do it, want to become involved. There is a lot of freedom that you get as you can be out in the middle of nowhere on your bike just surrounded by paddocks full of cows, it might not seem all that interesting but once you see that land you feel really connected to it.


What has SWAS done to help you improve? To help you on your journey to achieve the best you can from cycling? It has opens my eyes up to things that I need to improve my riding but also myself as well.


Can you tell us about your achievements, any awards, special wins or events that mean a lot to you? The Kelpie classic I just got the win in it. Also in the Otway odyssey I exceeded my time by over 15 minutes.


Can you tell us a little about your family, are they cyclists too? Yes, my dad is into riding as well but my brothers and my mum do like it but with the other sports that they do they don’t get out as much.


Do you have anyone you would like to thank? My parents are always a big help, my friends, my coach Kerry King, SWAS and Royal Bikes.


Thank you for being a part of the spotlight on series. We look forward to watching your journey in the future.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All